My Life unedited

Thankful in 2012 November 22, 2012

Filed under: Thanksgiving — Lanah Nicole @ 8:12 am
Tags: , ,

This has been an eventful year in so many ways. Through the ups and downs I am very proud of myself and all I’ve learned about me. My divorce was finalized in March, and while emotional and trying I’m certain it was for the best. I’m thankful for the strength to go through with leaving and completing the process, it has left me smarter and stronger. I’m thankful to my ex-husband that we are able to put the majority of our differences and hurt aside to get along and work together for what’s best for our daughter.

I’m so very thankful for my close friends who stood by my side and gave me a shoulder when I needed it, and still do! These are people who are so much more than just friends to me, they are my family. No matter what, they are there, I’ll never forget it and I’m so grateful to each one of them! My blood family were there for me as well, so supportive, but without all the opinions so many family members want to give. They respected my opinions and let me handle things my way.

I’m thankful for my freedom. The freedom to live in a free society, only given to us by the troops that go out every day and do their job. They are away from their families, they make little money, and get even less thanks, but they do it. I appreciate each and every service member out there risking it all for my freedom. I’m also thankful for the freedom from my past. I’ve worked through the issues and am continuing to move forward, I like me much better now. I’m also thankful for choice. I am free to make choices that feel right for me and my daughter. I don’t have to ask permission, I don’t have to consider everyone else’s opinion, I can just do…do what’s right.

And most importantly, I’m thankful for my daughter. She’s the sunshine of my life, and she’s adjusting pretty well to all the changes that have been thrown her way this year. I’m proud of the young lady she’s becoming, and I love the relationship we have together. We have a great time, but I’m still Mom. At least I’m finally a Mom that can make her own decisions, and stand by them! That’s something great to be able to teach your daughter.

Me and Kali just being silly

 

4 Responses to “Thankful in 2012”

  1. Great blog can’t wait to read more. Thank you for stopping by my page and checking it out. Good luck i am still trying to get my divorce done and over.

  2. I went through a d-i-v-o-r-c-e, and I came out much stronger too. How great that you and your ex are able to put your daughter first. She sounds like a joy.


Leave a Reply

