My Life unedited

13 is not 13 anymore December 1, 2012

Filed under: Party — Lanah Nicole @ 1:55 am
Tags: , , , ,

I worked a DJ job tonight, it was a birthday party for a 13 year old. I can’t imagine dancing in such a manner at that age. These kids were polite and it was a good show (that’s what I call the sound jobs) but they were grinding on each other the entire time! Boys with girls, girls with girls, a boy with a few girls, I’m not that old, and I know how to dance that way but I’m also NOT 13. Yes you read that right, 13 years old.

Photo credit: clker.com

Photo credit: clker.com

We only play radio edited music, but the grandparent that organized the party said, “The kids have been told they can bring their iPods so please make sure to have a connection.” We reminded her that we cannot control the language or content of the music they play from their iPods. She said, “I don’t care what they play.”

My ears are still thumping, but they had fun. I don’t think I’ve heard that many cuss words ever. I’m still in shock. I guess I’m getting old.

 

4 Responses to “13 is not 13 anymore”

  1. It’s sad how much more bold, sexual and rude each generation has become over the last six or seven decades. Each decade just gets worse.

    Parents of the 40’s and 50’s thought that the younger generation were heathens compared to their own youth, but the 40’s and 50’s were quite tame compared to today’s youngsters. The post World War II teenagers might have been more forward and “faster” than their parent’s generation, but they still lived in a society with very strong morals, so they weren’t completely lost.

    But as each generation’s parents have become more lenient, each generation of children has been given more independence, more free time, more spending money for which they don’t have to work, more exposure to inappropriate media, more allowances regarding bad/rude behavior, etc. And each generation of parents seems to throw up their hands and they blame their kid’s behavior on movies, music, video games, other kids or society, in general.

    • My daughter definitely isn’t perfect and of course I can only assume she minds as she’s supposed to when she’s not with me. Overall I think the kids are just different and society is more accepting of “maturing”. I’m not, but I also try to be open minded. Catch 22 I guess.

      • I suppose I should have added that there are always exceptions to the rule. I know a pair of wonderful parents who are raising some exceptional kids. My above comment was a generalized opinion of today’s society and doesn’t apply to every parent or every child. 🙂 ~Vicki

  2. It’s scary to say the least..


Leave a Reply

